Security Installer Community

Ljd 16port - Over The Internet

Guest stockers2006

Guest stockers2006

Hi guys! (& Gals!),

I am a complete novice at this CCTV stuff and am having a few problems.

I am an IT technician and therefore have a reasonable knowledge of computers and IP addresses etc.

A very good friend of mine who runs a pub in my local town has asked me to have a look at the camera system that was installed before he took over the pub.

All I can tell you is that it was installed about a year ago and it is made by LJD and has 16 ports for cameras, all of which are occupied.

It is connected to a Dlink DI-604 router which is connected to my Motorolla cable modem.

I also have a PC connected to the router which uses the internet connection. The IP address is static, well so long as the cable modem is not turned off - which unless there is a power cut - shouldnt happen!

From this PC I can view the cameras etc using the software that was left with system.

My friend wants to be able to view the cameras from his home PC which is not at the pub, over the internet. After reading through some of the posts in this forum i have established that this can be done.

Can anybody help me in the setting up of this.

Thank you in advance for any help that you can give me! I have been going round in circles!

Regards

Stockers2006

The actual model of the DVR would help.

I don't know why, but for some reason I don't think you will be able to log in over the internet normally I know this was a problem with earlier DVR's. I think you may have to create a VPN and use the software you are using locally and do it that way.

Hang around though I am sure others will be able to shed more light on it for you.

Guest stockers2006
The actual model of the DVR would help.