Security Installer Community

Alarm Installers Salary. How Much Do We Get??

Hi all,

I have been installing alarms for about 8 years. This includes hundreds of domestic alarms, a heap of small factories and shops(up to about 16 devices) and also about 5 large systems (200+ detectors). I also have experience with CCTV systems having installed around 50 small systems (up to 8 cameras). I know Winpak and Nstar very well (I work for honeywell at the moment) and am about to learn the galaxy panel (still waiting for manuals and panels from the UK). I know how to program numerous panels here (Australia) and learn new ones very quickly.

How much of a salary would i be payed in the UK installing, servicing or programming alarms, access etc????

Do any parts of the industry pay better than others?

Is it hard to get work with experience like mine?

Here is a more detailed description of my experience.

I am able to run cables in most types of buildings while keeping the cabling neat. If i need to use conduit this is always very straight and neat. There are not many jobs that i would not be able to do from a cabling point of view.

The fit off of my panels and accessories is always very neat. I can honestly say that my panels are some of the neatest you would see here in australia. Whenever another technician sees my panels they always comment on how neatly they are fitted off.

Programming of most alarms does not worry me. I can learn how to program a basic domestic or small commercial alarm in about half an hour. For instance i noticed on this forum that you have the ademco 4110 over there. I didn't have to learn this one when we installed them. I just picked up the manual and started programming it the first time i saw it. I always try and get my alarms to do the most they can. I have never been one of those people that just program the zones and walk away (Unless thats all it needed).