Security Installer Community

Courses For Engineers??????

AidenC

Hi,

Ive only been an alarm engineer for 7/8 months now(service engineer), prior to this i was an electronic engineer in the RAF(6years), and since ive left the forces they will still pay me 1000pound a year to do courses with,(for up to 3 years), I just was wanting feedback from the more experienced engineers who know of or have been on worthwhile courses before i decide what to use mine on?

Thanks

Aiden

Guest MrTrim

It depends on what kind of work you're looking into.

I'm studying a C&G III in Alarm Installation, were as some of my colleagues are studying NVQ Level III in Security Systems.

Where are you based?

Based in Lancashire, So far ive gained the following thats kind of relevant:

BTEC Electronics Engineering

BTEC Intermediate Award in Security Systems Installation

BTEC Intermediate Award in Security Systems Cabling (copper & fibre)

City & Guilds 3466/04 Data Communications Cable Installation and Testing (copper)

City & Guilds 3466/02 Optical Fibre Installation and Testing (multimode)

City & Guilds 3466/03 Optical Fibre Installation and Testing (singlemode)

Im really looking to step up from this, maybe a degree, in what i dont know, but if i did its a lot of work and would it be worth anything in this trade, i dont want to waste the money there giving me but at the same time i dont want to waste 20hours a week for 6years to do the degree :no: ???

Aiden

You boys in blue sure get spoilt with the training :)

Its hard for me to explain this but I would say you are over trained as a service eng, Im not nocking service eng before the rest of you start but I think you need to start getting you CV out to some major players. Companys that do large intergrated systems, where do you see your self in five years time, designing or repairing ?

If you get a degree, then what ? security consultant maybe.