Security Installer Community

Realistic Dvr Selection

Guest Mintjamman

Guest Mintjamman

Hi, I am new to the this forum and that of CCTV, I have been lurking and reading up as much as I can as well as trying to work out from the quadmyer of sales spill on DVR machines. My task is to install a small home system consisting of four cams (colour )

I have already purcahsed the cams and they are great for my purposes. However I now need a DVR to bring this project to frution and I am bewildered by the choice. I have looked at various suppliers as well as the stuff available on Ebay as many other have and I am sorry to post as this set of questions have bound to have been asked a fair few times before !

I need a machine that will allow me to record at high quality, decent storage as well as removable backup (DVR or CD-r ) be networkable for remote veiwing with decent playback over the web. I also want a VGA output for hookup to a TFT screen which I already have as well.

I have been looking at the Solidex range of machines which boast a lot of features and seen a demo over the web of the live images via the dealers website,they loook ok to me ?

The machine is around the

Heres a few pointers in the right direction from what your told us so far.

Buy a big hard drive, the bigger the better, it will allow you to record for longer before it overwrites and/or it allows a better quality of recording.

Its for the home youve mentioned, does your PC have a DVD or CD writer?

If it does then why buy another one, get a machine with a lan connection and you can archive via your PC.

A TFT monitor will not give as good an image as a proper CCTV Monitor will do, so if your not so much bothered about sharp images, buy a TFT type flat screen TV. You can buy a scart/phono adaptor from asda for under a fiver and a phono to bnc adaptor for under a pound. The TV can be used as a TV when your not watching your cameras or recordings.

Guest Mintjamman