Security Installer Community

Cctv - Switcher Vs Modulator

IWaveAtCows

As you will realize as you read this, I am new to CCTV but am a DIY type of girl and want to set up my own system. Here is my situation:

I want to monitor the interior of a building about 300' from my house with 3 or 4 cctv cameras in one large room. I want a WIRED system. I don't need to record anything and I don't need internet hookups. I just want to be able to view the inside of the building from my house. I would like to connect the system to a tv in the house that would be used only for viewing the CCTV.

I have narrowed my choices down to 2 types of systems, but I'm not sure which would work best.

System One would connect the cameras to a switcher inside the remote building, and then run RG59 from the switcher to the house.

System Two would connect the cameras to an RF modulator inside the remote building, and then run RG6 from the modulator to the house.

QUESTION 1: With System One, providing I have the right connectors, can I connect this directly to a tv? Or is the signal that comes in from the switcher not in the correct format? Would I have to run it through a VCR first?

QUESTION 2: With System Two, I would purchase an RF modulator that has four inputs and tune each to a different channel. Would all 4 channels be available at all times - so I can just change the tv channel in the house to see the different camera angles? Or does it require you to go to the modulator and select your input (camera),and then ALSO tune your tv to the appropriate channel?

QUESTION 3: If I bought a camera with a microphone, am I correct in thinking that System One will not transmit the audio signals, but System Two would?