Security Installer Community

Dedicated Micros D4

zs123

hi everyone

i posted a while back re a cop dvr and having listened to comments decided against it.

i have been offered a second hand DM D4 with 320 gig drive.

2 q's really.

1. What are DM like as a manufacturer, i have no knowledge of CCTV so not sure if there vauxhall or mercedes of the CCTV world!

2. is it true that you cant change the hard drive yourself and it has to be returned to DM at a cost of around 300 ?!!

thanks in advance for any advice offered

1. What are DM like as a manufacturer, i have no knowledge of CCTV so not sure if there vauxhall or mercedes of the CCTV world!

They are good machines, nearer the mercedes than the vauxhall

2. is it true that you cant change the hard drive yourself and it has to be returned to DM at a cost of around 300 ?!!

There is some debate about this, as far as I know DM writes the software onto the drive so it isn't simply a case of swapping the drive over and I'm not sure of cost - but definitely returning to DM is the only sensible option for a DIYer.

They are good machines, nearer the mercedes than the vauxhall

There is some debate about this, as far as I know DM writes the software onto the drive so it isn't simply a case of swapping the drive over and I'm not sure of cost - but definitely returning to DM is the only sensible option for a DIYer.

DM do a hard disk replacement course that is free - but obviously you have to be the trade & you still need to purchase the hard drive.

paul

THE BLACK KNIGHT

"Any comments / opinions posted are my opinion only and do not represent those of my employer or Company."

hi everyone

i posted a while back re a cop dvr and having listened to comments decided against it.

i have been offered a second hand DM D4 with 320 gig drive.

2 q's really.

thanks in advance for any advice offered