Security Installer Community

Can Cat5 Passive Baluns Be Used With Active?

martinnitram

Can cat5 baluns be mixed with active baluns?

( Im not a cctv engineer, Just a sparky!)

The reason im asking is because ive got an installation running cat5 with the following problem.

The system consists of 2 x speed domes on 8M towers, so there's 8M RG59 running to Active Balun senders in tower base, down a 240M run of cat5 to active recievers and then into DVR. (there is a run of cat5 for each cam, 1 pair for video 1 pair for telemetry)

The system was installed 18 months ago and has worked fine, although the adjustable pots on the recievers were set to minimum on gain and brightness to give decent picture.

But one of the recievers is playing up and giving a over gained picture, the colours are over bright and the picture is very sharp ( jagged outlines to objects) and when camera is tilted up to maximum the picture pulls horizontally a little at the top eighth of picture, although if you put screwdriver in the gain pot and wriggle and push, the picture briefly comes back .

Ive replaced the Reciever with like for like (system Q) but this one has dip switches and on the minimum setting gives about the same picture as the knackered one,

so i am considering putting a passive balun at the camera end and an active one at the DVR end, would this work and which balun set would anyone recommend,

Thanks Martin.

I can't see why active was used at all since it's less than 300m as you can do passive to passive at that distance and even get co-ax to work at that distance just about.

So in answer to you question yes. I can't see any reason as to why it's active at all.

Intruder / CCTV / Access Control Technical Support Personal

Subscriber to the "K.I.S.S" principle, that's Keep It Simple Stupid, are you?

I can't see why active was used at all since it's less than 300m as you can do passive to passive at that distance and even get co-ax to work at that distance just about.