Security Installer Community

Some Advice On A New System

NMBCamera

Hi,

I'm new in this forum, and I read the very interesting introduction to CCTv systems. I am interested in installing a new CCTV system at the exterior of my groundfloor apartment, and would like to ask for some advice from the experts as I am very new to this subject and do not have any experience.

This is my requirement: My apartment stands on a corner and it is a small apartment, therefore I reckon that two cameras will be enough having one at each end pointing at the corner. I think that two cameras are enough because I saw that the range of normal cameras is about 15 meters and there are about 8 meters from each end to the corner. Therefore one camera at every end should suffice. Right?

Also I want to record the footage taken from the cameras. I would like to ask what is the best option between the stand alone DVR and the PC based system for a private user like me. Personally, since my PC is going to be located in the bedroom, I prefer not having to leave it on 24/7 since its fan would be noisy while I sleep.

I would also want to record for the maximum length possible, to avoid having to take manual backups etc. How big, in terms of megabyte size would a day translate into with an acceptable resolution? This will help me calculate the amount of disk size that I will have to purchase. Also is it best to record only when motion is detected, or all the time?

There are wireless are wired cameras? Which is the best for a private user? Where does a wireless camera get the power from? Are wired cameras better than wireless ones in terms of reception etc. I can still use wired cameras since the electrical installation at the apartment has not been completed yet.