Security Installer Community

Different types of engineers

Deltaseven

Where I began working in this industry (Zimbabwe), an Alarms engineer was an Alarms engineer, and would do the installation, any routine maintenance and any service calls on the alarm (and sometimes, the survey and quote too).

Now that works well, but I can see the advantages to splitting engineers into Install, Service and Maintenance. (I am a service engineer, and know that I can't install a system nearly as fast as any of our install guys. But they trail behind me in troubleshooting.) We have a few engineers who are mainly focused in one area, but can help out in others if necessary, but we also have one or two who are soley maintenance (or service, or install).

How are the engineers in other firms split? Is there a tendancy for clear lines between the disciplines? Or is there room for a little diversity?

Theres only 3 off us and we all have our main areas but to be honest we all do everything. Quoting, Install, Services, Maintenance, etc etc.

Dave Partridge (Romec Service Engineer)

We have several departments.

sales, install, service and so on.

I almost exclusively service and repair.

It's the rare occasion I have to install anything and if i do install it's usually small stuff like a panel swap or some simlar thing.

I'm not the fastest engineer on the firm by a long way and it's a very long time since I was installing on a regular basis.

Our install crew could blind me with speed and technique and i'm usually suitably impressed with how they have managed to route cables and the short amount of time they have taken to do the install in the first place.

Service is a more challenging role in my eyes, keeping up to speed with developments and changes, as well as having extensive knowledge on the older systems keeps my mind sharp. (the forum keeps my tounge sharp :P )

It is funny though, showing some of the install apprentices panels that are older than themselves :lol: