Security Installer Community

Getting into the Fire Alarm trade

antinode

Hi everyone,

I had a quick scout round the other forums, but this seems to be the best place for this type of question. I'm just wondering if any of you have any info on how i'd get into installing an maintaining fire alarm system and stuff? I'd need to be trained first, of course. I don't think my local college has anything like this, although I've heard about apprenticeships, so maybe I can get into something that way. Would it be a good idea to ring around a couple of local installers to see if they'd take me on as an apprentice? I'm really not sure on how i'd "kick start" the whole thing. I have some good electrical knowledge (installing sockets, light fittings. I'm fairly sure I could rewire a house safely) and I have a good knowledge of burglar alarm systems, so I'm not starting from the first page. Any advice? I'm from Wigan, in Greater Manchester, so ideally, it'd be something around this area.

cheers guys!

Trade Member

Give TK Consultants a ring , they are in Hindley Green and are a training provider, they will be able to give more direction as to what is available in the local area.

T K Consultants

Unit 3, Old Skill Centre, Wigan, WN2 4HD

01942-256666

Be very careful what training (if any) you take from this company.Find out who is actually teaching you on the course and make sure they know what they are talking about. :angry:

If you want fire alarm training get in contact with the BFPSA British Fire Protection System Association. 020 8549 5855. If you pass 75% of the test you get a BFPSA training certificate not just a certificate of attendance. :yes:

I really can't be ar**** with it anymore.

Be very careful what training (if any) you take from this company.Find out who is actually teaching you on the course and make sure they know what they are talking about. 

I would agree. Same goes for any training Company.