Security Installer Community

Should I change to wireless alarm ????

Guest cjo1964

Guest cjo1964

Hi, I am an Automation Engineer with Royal Mail (electrical/electronic bias) and would like some professional advice.

I moved into my current house 7 years ago and inherited a fully hard wired GARDINER TECHNOLOGY DIAMOND 500 (GARDTEC???) that is looking a bit tired.

I have considered removing the system and replacing it with a wirefree system that I would install myself (fully capable etc electrical engineer for last 20yrs!) and every time I try to move the infra red pir devices the alarm goes off even though it has not been set (anti tamper device i believe!). Is there any way of deactivating this system short of removing the power supply to the control panel and bellbox and letting the backup battery die?

If anyone knows this system, is there any way that alternative upgraded pirs could be fitted in place of the old ones and can the current bellbox be changed to a new version without upsetting the system?

If the upgrade option is cheaper, I will go for that, but if not I will rip it all out and fit a wirefree system.

Your opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Any non public communications can be sent to my email at:-

rmengineer@hotmail.com

Thanks for your anticipated help.

:rolleyes:

I'd only advise fitting a wireless alarm if there were no alternatives and I'd steer clear of the budget end.

Your panel may look tired, but it is probably fine for the job and it sounds like it works ok.

It would probably work out less expensive to have your hardwired system upgraded(If it needs it) than it would to buy a quality wirefree system and install it yourself.

You really should consider getting an alarm installer out to check the existing system and advise you of you options.

Again I stress, don't replace what you have with a cheap DIY wireless system.

If you don't know......ask.