Security Installer Community

Inexpensive digital CCTV linked to Home PC

Guest ghengis

Guest ghengis

Recently I have experience a lots of eggs being thrown at my house and car. I am looking to install a CCTV system with day/night capability to catch/deter the little bu**ers.

I bought an indoor LinkSys WVC11B digital network camera which I have linked to my laptop via an Ethernet connection. The problem with this is that it has no low light capability. I work in IT, so I have a good understanding of computer hardware.

I would like to upgrade this camera, which is situated at an up-stairs window, with a day/night digital camera and get one or more external cameras installed outside. I plan to buy a new home PC with a large hard disk, so would like to use this to record/view the images rather than buy a separate dedicated CCTV recorder + monitor.

Any suggestions for CCTV hardware or recomendations for companies operating in Kent to install external CCTV cameras would be appreciated.

Recently I have experience a lots of eggs being thrown at my house and car. I am looking to install a CCTV system with day/night capability to catch/deter the little bu**ers.
Right first off i would suggest you buy a bucket sponge and some fairy liquid, you will find its a lot cheaper than all the CCTV kit your proposing. :yes:

Secondly, start giving the kids sweeties at halloween, it saves you needing the bucket sponge and fairy liquid in the first place. :whistle:

:joker:

Ok serious stuff now.

I would like to upgrade this camera, which is situated at an up-stairs window, with a day/night digital camera and get one or more external cameras installed outside.