Security Installer Community

Why is "THE TRADE" so closely guarded?

jizzer

This is not a dig or anything like that I find this website extremly informative.

Looking around the net and reading some comments on this site I get the feeling the security industry seems like a closed shop if you are "not in the trade" your not comming in type thing.

I just wondered why the ordinary "Joe public" if you like is excluded from some of the the distributors and suppliers sites.

I am an electrician and the wholesalers I use are very helpful to the guy who walks in off the street for a socket or flex for the kettle.

The trade prices that are talked about and sometimes edited by the admin seem to be fiercely guarded.

Surely the mark up will be the same wether buying 40 bags off potatos from the wholesale market or 40 day/night cams.

As I mentioned earlier this is not a dig or anything its just a little frustrating when trying to look for half decent equipment the reliable places people reccomend you seem to be excluded because you are "not trade"

Thankyou

The main reasons for this are security issues!

The other reasons are disclosing trade prices in public - would you like

everyone to know how much or how little you make on your jobs etc.

Also we dont want jo-burglar to find out info he would use for his proffession.

The main reasons for this are security issues!

The other reasons are disclosing trade prices in public - would you likeĀ 

everyone to know how much or how little you make on your jobs etc.

Also we dont want jo-burglar to find out info he would use for his proffession.

58969[/snapback]

Quoted for agreement.

Even amongst the trade members I don't think everyone divulges what prices they pay for specific mainstream items.

Zak Tankel - Managing Director - Security First (UK) - www.securityfirst.uk.com

Disclaimer: Any comments or opinions expressed by me are my own as a member of the public and not of my employer or Company.