Security Installer Community

CCTV Cabling

Guest LOC

I am new to CCTV but have completed a few Ethernet cameras using P.O.E. My question is I want to use normal CCTV equipment and I want to use Cat5 cable (already installed). How can I do the following

Power Camera

Tx/Rx Camera signals

Power seperate IR

Power heater

Power Blower

What would be the best way to do this from one central point using their own power adapters?

:ninja:

You can use one twisted pair with baluns for the video signal, another pair for power (assuming 12v cameras) and another pair for tx/rx(although most ptz are 24vac and I dont think cat5 would be man enough to power them). As for IR, heater and blower, I dont see how you can power these without using a local power supply or running more cables.

The spare pair in the cat5 could be used as negative triggers for 12v relays.

The opinions I express are mine and are usually correct!

(Except when I'm wrong)(which I'm not)

For some one not in the trade your diving in at the deep end with this, we will need more info to steer you on this but I'm sure if you are patient the cctv guys will ask the questions and then give you the answers I'm just going to have a bath myself but the guys on this forem are very helpful and I'm sure they will come thru for you GOOD LUCK pAUL.

I'm out of the bath! everything Breff said is fine but there are so many different ways of doing the same job you need to look the equipment you are using, for instance if you are using a PTZ set up and not a dome you will probably need an NVT type balun kit to transmit on cat5 but if you are using a dome you could use one which has the cat5 facility built in.

Domes have there own psu's which power the camera and heaters within but PTZ 's can power these with 240v or low voltage you can power from a central point but you need to be aware of volt drop over cable length, dennard type domes need the psu within about 1meter of the dome.