Security Installer Community

Working As A Trainee?

Guest MrTrim

Guest MrTrim

I'm currently studying a C&G in Alarm Installation, and really want to get into the industry as soon as possible, but I'm somewhat concerned.

I'm on a fairly good wage for the work I do at the minute, and the only opening I've seen at the minute is working as a trainee on minimum wage :(

I don't mind working for minimum wage for a maximum of 12 months, but do many companys guarentee work, and is the increase in wages much after 12 months if you stay within the same company???

I don't want to work 12 months on

Guest MrTrim

Is it normal to take people on like this?

I know I've got to do it, but I'm really concerned about what will happen in 12 months time.

Once I've got 12 months experience, would I be "hot property" to another company? Are there many jobs going at the min?

I'm currently studying a C&G in Alarm Installation, and really want to get into the industry as soon as possible, but I'm somewhat concerned.

I'm on a fairly good wage for the work I do at the minute, and the only opening I've seen at the minute is working as a trainee on minimum wage :(

I don't mind working for minimum wage for a maximum of 12 months, but do many companys guarentee work, and is the increase in wages much after 12 months if you stay within the same company???

I don't want to work 12 months on

Trade Member

Do you think someone would want to invest a year of their time and money on you and then let you go???

If you are good or even only semi-decent there is a shortage of engineers and you should be able to become gainfully employed in any size or type of alarm company.

Zak Tankel - Managing Director - Security First (UK) - www.securityfirst.uk.com

Disclaimer: Any comments or opinions expressed by me are my own as a member of the public and not of my employer or Company.

Work hard, pay attention and learn as much as you can.